Follow Des in Prototype D

ProtoTypeDFinal-FJM_Mid_Res_1000x1500.jpg

So, Amazon offers a Reading Deals Review Club and I snagged this puppy up in exchange for an honest review. Prototype D by Jason D. Morrow has many of the things I enjoy from a book. SciFi, check. Robots, check. Artificial Intelligence, check. Dystopian world, check. Just on its description alone, I knew this was a book that was going to be right up my alley.

I must admit, the beginning dragged a bit for me. It started off disjointed from Prototype D’s point of view. While I think it portrayed how Prototype D – who was soon named Des – felt waking up into his life for the first time, the disconnect was hard for a human like myself.

It seemed to take me forever to really get into the nuts and bolts of what the Soul program that Des was created under was and to grow some type of attachment to characters. I do admit, I felt an immediate bond to Hazel Hawthorn, the creator of the Soul program, as she is a fellow zany red-head like myself. She was pretty much a child prodigy and was given several opportunities for which she could expand her Soul program and create life. She makes the decision to choose the military to create robots to help fight against the Outlanders.

The Mainlanders and Outlanders automatically scream dystopian without even needing to read the book. That’s all I’ll say on that topic. While Hazel is believing she is creating the latest robot to assist the military, she doesn’t feel right about it. Why? Commander Bracken has commanded her to create Prototype E without fear. Warning bells go off and you know that things are going to go down.

There are some great twists and turns throughout the book, and I hate saying it, but I saw the really big twist near the end of the book coming (blame my author mind! I’m sorry!). I thought it was executed very well though! I did find quite a few typos throughout this surprisingly and plan to personally message the author so that he knows

Another note: the world building was rather astounding. I could only imagine the level of research and dedication that Morrow went through in creating this Scifi/Dystopian future. I recently liked the author’s fan page and saw that there will be a sequel. I didn’t find it all too surprising and actually squealed a little bit. I’d love to see what Des and Hazel find in the second book.

Overall this book gets a 4/5 rating from me. For the start of either a trilogy or even just a two-book story, I thought it was pretty solid. What held me back was a bit of chunky world-building and slow beginning. Once I got to a certain point, there was no turning back for me and I had to know what happened. The way the book started was reminiscent of Dune in some way to me (and I love the crap out of Dune).

Leave a Reply

