Recombinant is the Perfect Thriller

recombinant

I received an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) in exchange for an honest review. I also heavily apologize that my review didn’t come out the day the book came out or before then, as I have been terribly sick with a virus that doesn’t want to leave me alone. Regardless, I pushed through and finished the book. it seemed every time I started reading more on it, I would fall asleep! And that is totally not the book’s fault, it was mine from the medicine I have been taking. And now! Onto the review!

Shannon Mayer and Denise Grover Swank are two authors who are amazing on their own merits. When I first saw that they were collaborating on a book together, I seriously squealed in front of my computer! Then I went to see when it was coming out and it felt like it would be forever! I have read books by both these authors and neither one has disappointed me. Bringing these two women together to make this book? Best decision made.

Recombinant follows the POVs of Rachel and Lea, each character created by each of the authors. Rachel is presently a journalist who is looking for answers for a news story she has been working on and it leads her to her old friend from the army, Derrick. It takes little time for Rachel to realize the news story she is trying to create is more complicated than she originally thought, as her ex-boyfriend Sean – who was also in the army with her – comes into the picture and does not seem to have good intentions.

Switch to Lea who has been a vampire for at least a hundred years. Prior to being changed, she was a Cazador, a vampire hunter. After being turned, it still didn’t change her intentions to destroy all the vampires. She resides in Canada and has been hearing about “Vampire Deaths” that have been happening in New York City. While she feels it is most definitely a trap, her and her partner Calvin, who is not a vampire, drive to the Big Apple to try to find out who is behind this propaganda.

Up until Rachel and Lea meet, the backstories leading up to it are told in very vivid and believable prose. Yet, when the two finally meet, the two point of views go back and forth flawlessly. With two authors writing a story, it can either turn out horribly or brilliantly, Recombinant is the latter. With each chapter, Rachel or Lea ends it to take off the next scene. I could only imagine that this book was just as fun to write as it was to read.

In regards to the supernatural and science fiction elements, they were explained very thoroughly, but also there was enough that wasn’t explained to where it leaves the readers wanting more! The storytelling was does seamlessly and there were about three instances to where I was pulled out of the story due to a slight confusion in the writing where I could not tell who was talking.

Overall, I am giving this book a 5/5 rating. Denise Grover Swank on her own is brilliant. Shannon Mayer on her own is also brilliant. The two brilliant authors brought together to create a supernatural thriller for the Halloween season? Magnificent. I will most definitely be reading the rest of this series because I am dying to know what is going to happen next!

Leave a Reply

