Yuck

It’s been awhile since I’ve had a nice ranting type of blog about my illnesses. The last few weeks have been completely terrible. Angioedema flared up in my hands, I got a new medicine that has caused me to gain 10 pounds in under a week, I’m nauseated, I’m tired, and I just want a little break from all my illnesses for once.

The good news is that my Crohn’s disease is nearing remission. Last year at this time of the year, my inflammation markers were over five, now they are at a one! I’m still having some residual stomach pain and cramping, but that is probably going to be for the rest of my life because I also suffer from short bowel syndrome.

I am going to go a few days without the new medicine and see how I feel and if the weight I’ve gained will just go away. I’m also going to try to incorporate some light exercise – like a 20 to 30 minute walk – at least three times a week. It probably would help if I didn’t eat at random hours of the day when I am awake. My sleep schedule has been reversed as well. I’ve been staying up all night writing/working/reading and sleeping during the day. While this sounds like an awesome idea, it never fails that someone wakes me up while I’m trying to sleep and disrupts my sleep pattern.

I’ve been trying to write and read and I haven’t been too productive on either end of those things. Granted, I have done some reading and writing, but not as much as I want to do. I set high expectations for myself. I don’t like it when I don’t meet my expectations.

I’m going to call it an early night. I need to catch up on some sleep and hopefully get more accomplished tomorrow…or rather later today. Good night/good morning to you all.

Leave a Reply

