World After (Penryn and the End of Days) is a bit of a Sophomore Slump

6a013487de8961970c01b7c77460a7970b-300wi

While I absolutely adored Angelfall, the first book in the Penryn and the End of Days trilogy, World After was like reading something by a different author.

World After takes off where Angelfall ends. There is still tension there from the previous book but it quickly dissipates. Much of this book follows Penryn alone and, I hate to say it, the first book was so good because of the relationship and dynamic between Penryn and Raffe. The banter between the two was so tight and concise and since Raffe believed she was dead, he is missing from a huge portion of the book.

The whole time I was reading, I was just asking myself, “When is Raffe going to show up again?” It’s not that the writing was bad, I think it was the way the plot went. It just felt extremely slow and bored. I found myself looking to see when I was going to be done with a new chapter. It seemed that once Raffe entered the picture (almost three fourths of the way through the book) it finally picked up and I was engaged in it. Something about the prose leading up to Raffe’s entrance was stifled and so underwhelming.

The book ended and left me wanting more, I do have to say that. I think that this book is a lot like how Insurgent (the second book in the Divergent series) felt for me. It dragged quite a bit and I wanted more from Penryn. I wanted to see more anguish and fear and emotions from her before Raffe showed up. She is a strong female character and I think that Susan Ee wanted to use this book to show that Penryn can stand on her own two feet without Raffe, but I don’t think it should have lasted as long as it did.

Will I finish up the series? Absolutely. The premise of the series is still pretty awesome. I just hope that the ending doesn’t disappoint me. I do need to take a break from this genre of books for a few books so that I can appreciate the ending more. Overall, I give this book a 3.5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

