Sick

So, I am partially blaming my lack of an update from being sick. As you may have read in previous blog posts, I have Crohn’s Disease and Superior Vena Cava Syndrome. Currently, my Crohn’s Disease is out of remission, meaning that I have a lot of crappy days (pun one-hundred percent intentional). Tomorrow it will be two weeks of being sick. Two weeks. I have been miserable, on steroids, and retaining fluid and have gained 4 pounds. You’d think with how sick I have been I’d lose weight! I think the steroids are counterproductive of that occurring though.

The good news is – I went to see my doctor on Friday. Told him all of the symptoms I have been experiencing. At first, he thought an endoscopy and a stomach emptying tests would have been useful. But, as I explained to him that I have been having reflux without full on puking my guts up (had to put the imagery in there, sorry!), he thought that it may just be my GERD – it stands for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease – acting up. I was prescribed some prescription strength Prilosec and given a free month’s supply of another medicine to help with GERD.

My and his suspicions of it being GERD were pretty well confirmed late last night. I’d fallen asleep and didn’t even remember falling asleep! I was rudely awakened around two in the morning and found myself curled in a ball in front of the toilet. Definitely was a classic symptom of GERD.

I thought I had all the sickness behind me, but I don’t. Got sick at work today and just had to take some medicine and smile and wait for it to kick in and take away my nausea and pain. Hopefully I will be more productive in the coming days! I am making a conscious effort to update my blog, I don’t ever want to go that long without updating again!

Hope everyone had a charming Sunday.

One thought on “Sick

Leave a Reply

