Happy Birthday, Jessica!

20120729-154447.jpg

Today is my sister’s birthday, and she is turning twenty-five. It makes me realize how old the both of us are becoming. My birthday is in one short month, and I’ll be twenty-three! When my mom was twenty-five, my sister and I were six and four. Has so much time already passed behind us?

It seems like yesterday Jessica and I were ten and twelve. We would hang out in my bedroom – because she never wanted to have the responsibility of cleaning up our mess – and played all sorts of games. We loved playing with our Cabbage Patch Dolls, Beanie Babies, and American Girl Dolls. Sure, we fought over things, but I wouldn’t trade my sister for the world.

It’s crazy that now she has a child and is pregnant with another. Life continues and we all grow up no matter how much we may want to fight it. I know that her two children will have a great bond like Jessica and I have; regardless of if Jessica has more than two kids!! I only hope that mine and Jessica’s relationship continues to grow as we both enter new stages in our lives.

I asked Jessica if she feels like she is twenty five and she responded with, “No. I do feel older, but I don’t feel like I’m that old. I think having Joe (her son) makes me feel older. I feel like I’m about twenty-three.” That’s how old I’ll be turning this year, and I definitely don’t feel like I’m going to be twenty-three. I feel more like I’m twelve some days, that I don’t know the right things to say and that I am still so childish and naive.

How old do you feel?

Leave a Reply

