Prologue to Ostracized (Book 1 of Farnyn Series)

 

I feel like it’s that time. It’s time to reveal a little bit of my writing style from my novel in the works. The prologue isn’t dreadfully long, and I would appreciate honest feedback. If you think it sucks, tell me. If you love it, tell me. If it is okay, tell me. If — well, you get the drift here. Just let out a deep breath, and now here it goes…

Prologue

There are times in life when you look up at the sky and you wonder if there is anything out there. That is, you wonder this if you are an Earthling. I, on the other hand, have known about other life forms since birth. And when I say birth, I literally mean from birth. I’ve seen what they do to newborn Farnynians, they stick them in an incubator type thing – like they are little eggs or something – and all these intrinsic wires are attached to every available piece of skin. I believe that is why Farnyn is such a technologically advanced planet, because from the moment a new being breathes life, its destiny is decided. Even those crazy Earthlings have their destinies decided, and nothing in the cosmos can change it…no matter how much you may want to.

I guess this is where I come in. My matriarch has told me from a young age that I was going to be playing a pivotal part in the reawakening of Farnyn. Now, the first time I heard this, I was under four years old at the time and truly didn’t put much thought into it. But in light of the huge Revelry approaching, I have become partially anxious about this reawakening. I’m guessing my anxiety is in the realization that once I am of age it will be my responsibility to follow the path that has been set for me.

So perhaps that is why I was named Schuyler. For meanings of names are much deeper on Farnyn in lieu of on Earth. It was foretold that I was to grow into the smartest being on the planet. Right now, I really am not feeling all too smart though. Matriarch still scolds me for the dumbest things, and if I am supposed to be so smart, shouldn’t I ever be scolded? My thoughts exactly. Perhaps I will be able to live up to my name in such a short amount of time.

It’s only fourteen days until I am to celebrate my Revelry. In fourteen days, I will become a full-fledged Nyn. Meaning, that my patriarch and matriarch will have no obligations to me, that I am responsible for all my actions. I think that’s a lot of pressure considering I am only turning sixteen by Earthling years. Why, on Earth, they drive those crazy death traps at the age of sixteen! That’s not full responsibility exactly!

Matriarch says that I shouldn’t get into too much trouble in these fourteen days before the Revelry. She says that Ruler Dahn particularly keeps close watch on those who are on the cusp of turning into a Nyn or Nyna. So, I guess I must denounce trouble from being my middle name and begin following in the correct mold I am supposed to fit into.

What if I’m not ready to follow? What if there is another path that seems more elusive for me? I guess the destiny that lies ahead for me cannot be changed, so I must embrace it.

Well, there it is folks, my prologue. I’m really proud of it and I know it doesn’t give you all that much information about Farnyn, otherwise it would just give too much away before the book is out! But I do hope that I will have a first draft of the novel by the end of the year. Then I’ll just go from there. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Prologue to Ostracized (Book 1 of Farnyn Series)

  1. Very well written! Revealed just enough details that it gives you a taste of what’s to come 🙂 Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Very well written! Like how you give just a taste of what’s to come 🙂 can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

